Periscope: Notes from a submarine

I have a confession to make. I am a blog junkie.

For a news junkie, it was an obvious next step, because with blogs we can go beyond just reading the news. We can join the discussion that decides what the news means.

And where a newspaper is constrained by journalistic objectivity, a blog can be the authentic, warts-and-all voice of a real person.

I don’t mean to denigrate newspapers. Without journalists doing the hard job of reporting, we’d have nothing to blog about. And if more people knew how much work the dedicated reporters and editors put into every issue of the Daily, they would not be so quick to criticize.

But in a blog we are not tied to whatever the one source that returned our calls may have said that afternoon. Our only limitations are the imagination and logic that we can marshal to our cause.

In that spirit, I am excited to be joining Tres, Tiara, Meredith, and Dane as the first bloggers of the Hub. I hope to be part of a lively conversation with the OU community. I want to hear what you think, even if it is that I am wrong about everything. I will do my best to publicly respond to your comments on the blog, in the message boards, and at periscopeblog@gmail.com.

A little about me: I’m a journalism grad student in my last semester (knock on wood) at OU. I got my undergraduate degree here in history, and I’ve lived in Norman since 2001. For the last few months, I’ve been blogging at my own site, https://genelewis.wordpress.com/. At the wordpress blog I have followed the Cherokee Freedmen, national politics, nerd-tastic spelling bee champion Evan O’Dorney, and whatever else catches my interest. I plan to do the same here.

My master’s thesis is on religion journalism, and I am interested in how both religion and science shape our world. I am Jewish, but I admire the vibrancy of the Christian community at OU. When it comes to religion and nonbelief, I think we waste too much breath talking past each other. There is a lot of bluster and not enough understanding on all sides. I hope this blog will play a small part in reducing those misconceptions.

I am active in local environmental groups, and I believe that global warming will be the defining crisis of this generation. Momentum is on the side of change, but we have a long way to go. The Periscope will try to examine the state of our planet and what we can do to save it.

Oh, that name? Well, it sort of resembles my own, and it implies looking at things from around a corner or a different perspective. That is another goal of this blog, to find some of the idiosyncratic, but nonetheless important, stories and angles hidden in the wilds of the Interweb.

That is an ambitious plan, no? Yes. Luckily I have you all to tell me when I am full of it.

Leave a Reply

